OSEHRA Board of Directors (BoD)

James B. Peake, M.D.
Chairman of the Board of Directors OSEHRA

James Peake, M.D. was nominated by President George W. Bush to be Secretary of Veterans Affairs on October 30, 2007. He was unanimously confirmed by the Senate on December 14, 2007, and served from December 2007 through January 2009. In December 2009, Dr. Peake was appointed Senior Vice-President for the Health Industry at CGI. He is responsible for the overarching US and European strategy for growing CGI's business in the evolving Health and Health Insurance industries.

A St. Louis, Mo., native, Peake received his Bachelor of Science degree from the U.S. Military Academy at West Point in 1966 and was commissioned a second lieutenant in the U.S. Army Infantry. Following service in Vietnam with the 101st Airborne Division, he was awarded the Silver Star, a Bronze Star with "V" device and the Purple Heart with oak leaf cluster, Peake entered medical school at Cornell University in New York. He was awarded a medical doctorate in 1972.

Dr. Peake served as U.S. Army Surgeon General from 2000 to 2004. As Army Surgeon General, he commanded 50,000 medical personnel and 187 army medical facilities worldwide. Prior to that, he served as Commanding General of the U.S. Army Medical Department Center and School, one of the largest medical training facilities in the world with 30,000 students annually. Dr. Peake retired from the U.S. Army at the rank of Lieutenant General.

John D. Halamka, M.D.
Member of the Board of Directors OSEHRA

John D. Halamka, MD, MS, is a Professor of Medicine at Harvard Medical School, Chief Information Officer of Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center, Chairman of the New England Healthcare Exchange Network (NEHEN),  co-Chair of the national HIT Standards Committee,  and a practicing Emergency Physician.

As Chief Information Officer of Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center, he is responsible for all clinical, financial, administrative and academic information technology serving 3000 doctors, 14000 employees and two million patients.   As Chairman of NEHEN he oversees clinical and administrative data exchange in Massachusetts.    As co-Chair of the HIT Standards Committee he facilitates the process of electronic standards harmonization among stakeholders nationwide.

Mike O'Neill
Member of the Board of Directors OSEHRA

Mike O'Neill is CEO of MedicaSoft, LLC, a healthcare IT company that develops software for healthcare providers worldwide. Prior to joining MedicaSoft he was Senior Advisor and a member of the founding team of the VA Center for Innovation with the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs where he led innovations in technology and business practices in both healthcare and claims processing and spearheaded VA's open source electronic health records initiative. 

Prior to VA, Mike was involved in the commercialization of new products and technology as an executive in both startups and large companies and as an early stage venture capital investor. Mike holds a Bachelor’s and Master’s degree in Electrical Engineering from Virginia Tech. Andrew Aitken
Member of the Board of Directors OSEHRA

Andrew Aitken is Founder and GM of Olliance Consulting (a Black Duck Company division), the leading open source business and strategy consultancy.  With 15+ years of industry experience, Andrew is a recognized expert on strategies for the creation of economic value from FOSS and a leader in the open source community. Founder of the industry's only "think tank" on the future of open source, a bi-annual event held in Napa, CA and Paris, France, and regularly attended by the leading CEOs and visionaries. 

He has served as an expert witness on the issues of open source and an invited guest lecturer at Stanford's Entrepreneur program. Andrew has chaired and spoken internationally at multiple industry conferences, is a Board member of OSEHRA, sits on the Board of Advisors of SugarCRM, DotNetNuke, and Funambol, and has personally worked with companies such as IBM, Microsoft, Intel and the U.S. Navy.


Seong K. Mun, PhD
President and CEO
Member Ex-Officio of the Board of Directors OSEHRA

Seong K. Mun, PhD, is a consummate builder of innovation programs and explorer of new concepts. As a Professor of Radiology and Director of ISIS Center, at Georgetown University Medical Center until 2007, he pioneered work in digital imaging, teleradiolog, PACS, telemedicine, e-health, global disease surveillance, open source software and medical informatics. As a Georgetown Medical Center’s Associate Vice President, he managed congressional affairs for 12 years working with Jesuit fathers. He is a recipient of the General Max Thurman Award for Excellence in Military Medical Research for his contribution to military medicine.

Dr. Mun is a tenured faculty and Director of Arlington Innovation: Health Research at Virginia Tech Research Center, Arlington, VA, and is working on a sleep imaging study and the development of smart-phones for medical applications. In the 80’s while working at the Columbia University Presbyterian Medical Center in New York he was part of a team that build one of the earliest whole-body superconducting MRI systems in the world.

He is a Fellow of American Institute of Biological Engineering, member of American Association of Medical Physics as well as HIMSS.

Stephen Warren
Veteran Affairs Board Liaison to OSEHRA

Stephen Warren serves as the VA Acting Chief Information Officer and the first Principal Deputy Assistant Secretary in the Office of Information and Technology (PDAS/IT). In his role as PDAS, Mr. Warren is the Chief Operating Officer of the $3.3 billion IT organization, overseeing the day-to-day activities of the IT organization to ensure VA’s 8,000 IT employees have the tools and services needed to support our Nation’s Veterans. Mr. Warren successfully led the consolidation of VA’s vast IT network into one of the largest consolidated IT organizations in the world.

Mr. Warren received a B.S in Nuclear Engineering from the University of Michigan, and a M.S. in Systems Management from the Florida Institute of Technology and has over 30 years of federal experience.