2019 Leadership Award Recipients Recognized

Pictured above from left to right: David Whitten; Dr. Nancy Anthracite, accepting on behalf of Rick Spivey; and Peter Li.

Each year, the OSEHRA Leadership Awards recognize and acknowledge the hard work, dedication, and achievement of individuals within the open source and health information technology community. The 2019 awardees were announced during the 8th Annual OSEHRA Summit held July 9-10 at the Bethesda North Marriott Hotel and Conference Center. The committee received numerous deserving nominations, and the community voted to recognize three outstanding  individuals in the areas of innovation, government leadership, and lifetime achievement. OSEHRA is pleased to recognize this year’s OSEHRA Leadership Award recipients. 

The 2019 Innovation Award was presented to OSEHRA’s own Peter Li in recognition of his hard work, years of involvement in open source, and role as an architect in the community. He has played an active role in OSEHRA since its founding, and in addition to his role as Director of Engineering, he is a co-chair for the Architecture Working Group. His reliability, intelligence, and work ethic have enabled him to be a strong team leader and innovator. He has been instrumental to OSEHRA and our work on synthetic data solutions. Peter’s influence, guidance, and contributions have been essential to OSEHRA’s success and we are proud to be able to recognize one of our own with this award.

The 2019 Government Leadership Award was presented to Rick Spivey in recognition of his strong support of the OSEHRA Community from within the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs (VA). His dedication and responsiveness in delivering software to the open source community has been unmatched, and his involvement and support of OSEHRA has been vital since its inception. Rick, along with the Code in Flight Team and the FOIA team, have consistently found and delivered software from inside the VA. He also had a crucial role in obtaining documentation on the development process for the Lexicon. Rick is about to start his well-earned retirement, and he will be greatly missed by the open source community. 

The 2019 Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to David Whitten in recognition of his career-long achievements and dedication to the open source community. Dave has played an active role in the open source community for over 30 years, and has been a member of the OSEHRA community since its inception. He has years of experience with VistA to draw from and has played a significant role pushing the open source community forward. After he left VA, he helped bring VistA to the Central Regional Hospital in North Carolina, worked to bring Port VistA to GT.M, and has freely shared his expertise with software developers in many areas. He has contributed to a number of OSEHRA work groups and projects and his work lies behind many of OSEHRA’s success stories. His breadth of knowledge is unparalleled and his generosity and tireless work ethic have truly improved the open source EHR community.

Awardees were selected via a community nomination and election process. We would like to thank the 2019 Awards Committee for its dedication and commitment to the open source community. OSEHRA would like to thank the distinguished members of this year’s Awards Committee:

Jack Taylor, MD, InforMD, Inc. Co-Chair
Laura Prietula, U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs, Co-Chair
Rick Avila, Paraxial
Joel Ivey, U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs, Retired
Mike Lanier, Red Hat
Anthony Fischetti, OSEHRA
Megan Murray, OSEHRA

Over 160 academics, clinicians, developers, government officials, industry leaders, and members participated in the 8th Annual Open Source Summit. This Summit was made possible by Conference Sponsor Perspecta as well as our other Sponsors and Exhibitors, including DSS, Inc.; BookZurman, Inc.; HSPC; InterSystems; Oroville Hospital; YottaDB LLC; Kitware, Inc.; Microsoft; PatchAdvisor, Inc.; and Red Hat. If you were unable to attend this year's event, we encourage you to visit our Summit proceedings page

Congratulations again to all of this year's recipients!

Click here for more information about our Annual OSEHRA Leadership Awards.